TripleHockeySticks

Live-Love-Laugh Daily

Institution of Marriage?

Posted by firstman2006 on January 25, 2007

Just read an interesting post that voiced the opinion that Marriage is an obsolete institution. that I have never read before, wedding ringsbut have heard voiced, mostly by men inorder to use as a premise to be able to sleep with more than one woman.  I presently am not inclined to fully disagree with the statment or agree, since I am in the process of getting divorced. But I would still like to believe that the institution of marriage does serve a purpose and is not obsolete. I am a firm believer that children should be brought up by two married parents, that have maternal and paternal roles. The institution serves many functions, the most important of which is instilling values into the offspring.  When the institution of marriage is not in place, often times the moral development is lacking or atleast has a greater chance of developing negative values. Well if values are obsolete, then I suppose the institution is obsolete aswell.

One Response to “Institution of Marriage?”

  1. Good post! I believe marriage is vital to the survival of society and family. My friend wrote a couple blog posts recently about this that you might enjoy… One is “My Marriage Evolved Away” which was posted yesterday on my blog. His point is that marriage is intensely important to civilization, and with the demise of the institution of marriage, we may be facing the demise of the civilization as well.

    Thanks for sharing! I appreciate your thoughts.

    Also, have you read this:

    http://www.lds.org/library/display/0,4945,161-1-11-1,00.html

Leave a Reply

 
