TripleHockeySticks

Live-Love-Laugh Daily

Recycling: Does one have to be anally retentive to successfully recycle?

Posted by firstman2006 on May 25, 2006

Recycling Containers are not a current item in my home at the House of Bean. I have thought about getting a couple of bins- one for the inside and one for the outside. I suppose I should have more than one. In past lives, I recycled regularly to the extent of recycling newspaper, glass, cans, and plastic all in their respective recycling bins.

As a kid, I don’t remember having a recycle bin either, but mom was a frugal person and reused or recycled many things to include washing out and reusing plastic lunch bags. We have always kidded her about that. As kids living in Virginia we would collect bottles and turn them in for their deposit. Not until many year later, however, do I recollect actually having a recycling bin.

Every house (except for the current one) that I have lived in since being an adult has had atleast one recycle bin, if not more. The current town I live in for some reason, does not require its residents to recycle. Most of the other towns I have lived in not only required it, but would actually fine residents for not recycling. Although, I thought this was just a way of getting more revenue for the city.

Did a search for recycling bins, and found a nice looking recycle bin at Recyclingbin.com. They have bins of various sizes and uses. I particularly like the Hexcycle containershexcycle, which can come with a frame to help organize them, and hinged lids that won’t get lost.  They also have a lid that keeps the elements out. Don’t ever remember seeing one with a lid. Great idea to keep insects out too. Hmm, perhaps I will order one.

Leave a Reply

 
